A couple of people have recently posted on this old post about TSA Pre-Check reporting a failure to get through Pre-Check with their CAC Card.  I went to the TSA website to see if their was anything new on locations for Pre-Check and how the military works within that system.  Sure enough, the information is now updated to include 40 airports where Pre-Check is installed.  More importantly, there is a new list of the airports where the military CAC card can get you through Pre-Check.  It is not that many compared with the total 40 airports with Pre-Check.  I guess I have not noticed it since my primary airports of DCA, IAD, HNL, and ANC all have the military-friendly Pre-Check.  Check your airport below and see which list it is on.  Remember you can still get through Pre-Check if you have Global Entry or you a Gold or higher level on these airlines: Alaska Airlines, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Hawaiian Airlines, United Airlines, US Airways and Virgin America.  Details may vary with each one.

Here is the TSA’s page with the list of Pre-Check Airports and listed below for your convenience.

Now here is the list of Pre-Check locations that will accept you with just a CAC Card.  Hopefully, they will expand this soon.  Since it comes up fairly often, here are the rules on who is allowed to use this system:

At this time, active duty members of the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps and Coast Guard, as well as active drilling members of the National Guard and Reserve, who are issued CAC IDs, are eligible to participate in TSA Pre✓™.  No spouses, but dependents 12 or under are allowed to go through with you.

Service members should use the following checkpoints to see if they qualify for TSA Pre✓™ expedited screening:

  • Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall (BWI): D Checkpoint
  • Charlotte Douglas International (CLT): Main Terminal, Checkpoint B
  • Denver International (DEN): South Checkpoint
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International (ATL): Main Checkpoint, North Checkpoint
  • Honolulu International  (HNL): Main Terminal, Checkpoint 3
  • Lambert-St. Louis International (STL): Terminal C Checkpoint
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National (DCA): North Pier Gates 35-45, South Pier Gates 10-22
  • Seattle-Tacoma International (SEA): Checkpoint 3
  • Ted Stevens Anchorage (ANC): South Terminal
  • Washington Dulles International (IAD): Main Terminal, TSA Pre ✓™ Checkpoint

Please report if you find other airports that are starting to allow military members through.

Posted by glenn | 5 Comments

5 responses to “Update on TSA Pre-Check and Military Access”

  1. mark says:

    I could have sworn I’ve seen Pre Check at BOS.

  2. Charles says:

    I know there has been confusion amongst DOD civilians as well because they have CAC IDs as well. However according to the FAQ on the TSA webpage they do not have access to PreCheck by virtue of having a CAC:

    Q. Are civilian Department of Defense employees who have CAC IDs eligible to participate in TSA Pre✓™?
    A. At this time, only U.S. Armed Forces service members who possess a valid CAC ID are eligible to participate in TSA Pre✓™.

  3. Charles says:

    On a side note, the HNL PreCheck is no longer at Checkpoint 3, it has moved to Checkpoint 5.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

home top